Phoning It In: Worms: Armageddon (Playstation)

Here’s a review I wrote on Epinions.com 13 years ago today.  It’s for a fantastic party game from a time when I attended parties, Worms:  Armageddon.  The Worms series had been around for a number of years, even back then.  Now the franchise is a staple title of the downloadable game market.

Oh Dear!

Worms Armageddon [U] [SLUS-00888]-frontWorms: Armageddon” recently crawled on to my Playstation. I played the original “Worms” game for the computer about two years ago for the first time, and fell in love with it. Basically, the series is a mixture of the classic games “Lemmings” and “Scorched Earth“. You and up to 3 friends have a team of 4 worms, who try and blow the living daylights out of one another. The last team standing wins the war.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This game is excellent for anyone of any age. My much younger brother and I can play it, or I can play it with my friends. The controls take a bit of time to get used to. It’s an unwritten rule that for the first 5 or so games you will blow yourself up. Once you’re used to the controls, however, you won’t want to put it away. The game is incredibly addictive. I definitely should not have bought it during exam time.

Think about it all you want, Blue Team... You're going to blow  yourself up.

Think about it all you want, Blue Team… You’re going to blow yourself up.

There are so many good things about this game. The graphics are simple, but effective. If you let the title screen set for a while, you get some well done, and very funny animations of the worms trying to blow each other up. The sound is excellent. There are several different settings for the voices of the worms. They say different things as you try to blow each other up. The music is catchy, yet not annoying. After countless hours playing the game you might find yourself humming the tune. (It’s in my head right now.)

There are several one player missions, in case you can’t find anyone to play with. They vary in difficulty and are almost as fun as the main game. Another excellent way to kill time. The game’s real charm lies in the multiplayer games, though.

The best thing about this game is its sense of humour. You’ll find any type of weapon you could imagine: bazookas, hand grenades (there are Holy ones for Monty Python fans), shotguns and explosive farm animals. Believe me when I say you’ll be laughing your head off when you watch an “Old Woman” wander around complaining, then suddenly blow up. Even accidentally killing yourself is funny with these weapons. It’s probably one of the only games where you can be incredibly frustrated, and yet, still be smiling.

As much as a fan of the Shotgun as I am... this is probably not a good use of it.

As much as a fan of the Shotgun as I am… this is probably not a good use of it.

I have a few problems with the Playstation version (which is the only version I’ve tried, mind you). You only use one controller, even if four people are playing. That means that when someone else’s turn comes up, you have to pass the controller around. It wastes time, and can be confusing.

Another problem is the ridiculous amount of load time. I don’t mind waiting for the multiplayer game to an extent, but in the single player training missions it’s beyond aggravating. If you fail, you have to wait for the screen to load back up, and then you’ve got to wait some more to try again. I don’t think it would have been too much to ask of Microprose and Team 17 to simply add a “Try Again” button.

These flaws don’t take too much away from the game. Over all, this game has an unreal fun factor. It’s never the same game twice, and you can make it last as long as you’d like. It’s funny and challenging at the same time, and an excellent party game. I’d recommend it to just about anyone, really.

Pros:  Very Funny game. Just the Right Amount of Challenge
Cons:  Too Much Load Time, No second Controller Option.

5/5

3 comments on “Phoning It In: Worms: Armageddon (Playstation)

  1. Ah, Worms. I had W:A for my PC, and loved it. OK, technically I still have it, but it’s one of those games that doesn’t quite work right after various OS updates. I suppose that’s one advantage to the PSX version; as long as you’ve got a PSX or PS2, you can play it.

    • I wish I still had the same memory card from back then, though. This game had a ton of unlockables. One of them was my favourite game mode, which involved a lot of close range explosives, like the Ming Vase.

Leave a Reply

