Not Another Peep… Not Another Peep…

Army of Grayskull

Army of Grayskull

Since all things must end, Evil Dead Week comes to a close.  It’s been a lot of fun going through the entire series this week.  If you’ve been reading and/or commenting along with me… Thank you very much for the support, and I hope you had even a sliver as much fun with it as I did.  I’ve really enjoyed rewatching the movies, and writing about them was interesting.  I don’t usually deal well with deadlines, so imposing a set of them on myself seemed like a setup for failure.  I’m quite pleased to report that I made each of them.

I’m also incredibly pleased that I was able to enjoy the new movie.  You might’ve noticed that nowhere since the review have I used the term reboot, or remake, in regards to it…  I’m pretty sure it can actually qualify as a sequel, rather than a hard or soft reboot, or a remake.  It seemed while watching it that the events that happened to Ash, Cheryl, Linda, Scotty and Sherry could very well have happened in this Universe.  I’m pretty sure the evil even whispers the name Cheryl to Mia at one point in the swamp.  Then there’s the whispered recorded messages in the background, as well as their appearance in the credits.  I wish I had kept better track of where I read things today, but I’ve been all over the place looking at Evil Dead stuff, I kinda lost track.  Anyway, this theory has been reported as confirmed by Alvarez and Raimi, and that supposedly a crossover movie will occur for Evil Dead 7:  Army of Darkness 2,  or whatever they plan on calling it.

I’m really glad I went through with this, as spur of the moment an idea that it was, particularly because I’ve never had the opportunity to really think about and discuss what I love about the series.  I’m glad I figured it all out before watching the newest entry, because it really laid out for me what Evil Dead was going to have to do to impress me.  If I hadn’t both watched and reviewed the first three this week, I don’t know if I would have really remembered just how different each entry is.  I certainly wouldn’t have noticed half of the references to the original movies that Evil Dead has.

Anyway, thanks for putting up with my endless yammering on basically a single topic for a week.  It was fun.

3 comments on “Not Another Peep… Not Another Peep…

  1. Given the time of year, for a moment I thought this post was going to be about binging on marshmallow chicks. 😀

    Anyway, glad you had fun with Evil Dead Week; there’s always a nice sense of accomplishment when you finish a “theme week” or anything like that while blogging. It’s been a lot of fun to read as well.

  2. Pingback: Evil Dead Week | Fat Guy With Glasses

Leave a Reply

