Evil Dead Week

The thought of going to a new Evil Dead movie for the first time in 20 years has me unreasonably excited.  It’s only showing on one screen in town on Thursday, and the old man and I will be there.  My level of excitement is particularly unreasonable because, aside from tweets from Bruce Campbell (@GroovyBruce), I don’t know a whole lot about the upcoming movie.  After learning that Sam, Bruce and others are on as producers, and hearing really positive reactions to the trailers, I put myself on Spoiler Alert Media Blackout.

I hadn’t even seen a trailer until last night, when they aired a couple during the season finale of The Walking Dead.  This post started out as a post-mortem on Season 3… but I scrapped it because while I was writing, all I wanted to do was watch the original Evil Dead.  That’s about when I realized that given the time frame, I could watch each of the existing ones, one a night, until Thursday.  And if I’m going to do that… well, fuck it, I might as well have my very first second theme week.

It got into my toys... and it went bad.

It got into my toys… and it went bad.

Of course, whenever I set out to do something on any kind of a schedule, it usually falls apart.  I don’t know that I’ve ever finished anything I’ve started.  Maybe Evil Dead Week will end up Review Grab Bag:  Evil Dead Edition.

Another concern that I have is that I’ve got myself so worked up about seeing this movie, that there’s a very real possibility that I might come away disappointed.  The last time I was excited enough about a movie to ignore all hype-generating media was for Star Wars Episode II…

Needless to say that didn’t live up to my expectations.

UPDATE:

The week’s over!  Here’s some easy links to the reviews:

And here’s the final page, where I go on about my thoughts on running through the series this week.

3 comments on “Evil Dead Week

  1. Well, I hope this one lives up to your expectations, Spikor. And I’ll be reading along with your reviews, even though the only one I’ve seen is Army of Darkness. (Yes, the others are on the watchlist.)

    • I hope so, too. Glad to hear you’ll be following along, even if you haven’t seen the movies yet. I’m trying not to spoil any of the really good stuff, on the off chance that someone out there still hasn’t heard some of the specifics of what makes these movies great.

Leave a Reply

