Phoning It In: Female Force #1: Betty White

I’ve been pretty busy tearing apart our bathroom this weekend, so I haven’t really had time to consume any media that I care to write about.  But since I’m still trying to get a hang of things here at WordPress, and I don’t want to go too long without posting something…  It must be time for another installment of Phoning It In… Where I post something I wrote somewhere else a long, long, time ago.  Today’s entry comes from Goodreads on July 6th, 2011.

 

Female Force: Betty WhiteFemale Force: Betty White by Patrick McCray

I’m a tremendous fan of comic books. My wife is a tremendous fan of Betty White. Obviously, the moment we discovered the existence of this gem, we needed to have it.

 

Here’s the serious stuff:

Female Force 
is a comic book series produced by BlueWater Comics. This is the first issue of the series. Focusing on the lives of prominent and powerful women in Entertainment and Politics, Female Force has done features on Michelle Obama, Sarah Palin, Angelina Jolie, J.K. Rowling, and many others. It’s definitely a fascinating idea, though I’m not sure the target audience here is a very large one.

This issue focuses on a quick and quirky recounting of the life of Betty White, from her family’s arrival in L.A. in the mid 1920s to her rise to fame as a pioneer of television, her marriages, her “Golden” era, her lifelong love affair with animals, and finishing with her hosting Saturday Night Live.

Here’s the foolish stuff:

Clearly, this was an impulse buy, bought online the moment my wife and I discovered it even existed. More of a gag gift to ourselves than anything, we could scarcely imagine what it would be like. We hoped it would be foolish, because we love things that are foolish.

Betty Liberty

I think this speaks for itself.

Flamingos are always so self concious.

Of course! This makes perfect sense.

I was not disappointed. The first page contains an image of Lady Liberty, holding an Emmy instead of a torch, with Betty White’s head. Betty’s story is recounted by an upbeat flamingo in the Florida Everglades, trying to raise his 30 year old flamingo friend’s spirits.

Elsewhere, a splash page contains a gigantic Betty, dressed as Sue Ann Nivens, standing defiantly atop the letters WJM carved from crushed concrete, a destroyed cityscape behind her. Betty is holding a whisk in one hand and a lightning kissed rolling pin above her head in the other. Her husband Allen Ludden, crouched like Luke Skywalker on the Return of the Jedi posters, stands behind her, wielding a longsword with Password emblazoned upon it. This may well be the greatest comic book splash page I have ever seen.

Another page features the ladies of the Golden Girls standing as tall as Godzilla monsters in downtown Miami. The each hold Emmys. Blanche is also carrying the Goodyear Blimp. Take what you will from that.

Here’s the rest of the stuff:

I’m not exactly sure who Bluewater Comics is trying to reach with this series. I can honestly count on one hand the number of people I’ve ever met who would consider this to be purchasable. But the thing is this… This comic, for those people like my wife and I, is important. We need things like this. Betty White and her story are presented in a way that shows how important a Female Force she has been, but very little seems to be taken too seriously. Which is probably the perfect caricature of Betty White.

I’d have to give this comic 3/5 stars, but with each of the Godzilla lady panels mentioned above…

5/5

View all my Goodreads reviews

 

This is Goddamn Amazing.

Goddamn Amazing.

 

 

2 comments on “Phoning It In: Female Force #1: Betty White

Leave a Reply

