Watchmen Weekend.

Like many other fat guys with glasses, I went and saw Watchmen this weekend.  I also read Watchmen this weekend.  And after watching the movie, I read reviews of Watchmen this weekend.  After taking in as much Watchmen I could, my overall opinion is… I agree.

You see, random fat guys with glasses were arguing with other fat guys with glasses about many things this weekend.  “What to expect from Watchmen the movie.”  “What Watchmen the graphic novel (That’s nerdspeak for comicbook, to the layperson) really meant.” “Did the plan really succeed, or did Rorschach succeed?”  “Was Papa Smurf really neccessary?” “My wasn’t that a lot of gore for a comicbook movie?” “3 hours?  Seriously?”  These questions and more have teh internets tubs clogged.  And I agree with everyone.
Some people are saying they were disappointed.  Others loved the movie.  Others still have placed it on a pedestal.  Others want to scream out and cry foul.  I agree with all of them. The violence was unparralleled, gory, exhausting, entertaining, tiresome, unremarkable, uncharacteristic and exhilerating.  Dr. Manhattan’s full frontalness, the Nite Owl’s thrusting and Silk Spectre’s high beams were all completely gratitous, unneccessary, required, impressive, meaningful, stiff, ironic, satirical, grotesque, blasphemous and appalling.  I have never enjoyed such a boring masterpiece with so much action packed excitement it could put down a sick horse in my life. I couldn’t possibly be more disappointedly pleased that they were able to stray so close to the original source material.  
Three Apples Tall.
The fact that this movie has shocked, confused, amazed, bored, alienated, disgusted, disgruntled and entertained millions while nearly becoming a huge commercial success means it is exactly like the graphic novel.   And because the graphic novel is a textbook technical classic that is quite open to misinterpretation, that means that no one, and everyone, has the right, and wrong, opinion of it, and I agree with them.
One comment on “Watchmen Weekend.

Leave a Reply

